Editorial Staff

Gordon Turnbull, General Editor

Andrew Heisel, Production Consultant

Editors of volumes in progress

Nigel Aston, Reader in Early Modern History, University of Leicester 

The Correspondence of James Boswell and William Johnson Temple, 1756-1795, Vol.2, 1777-1795

James J. Caudle

James Boswell: Journals 1761-1763

John Eglin, Professor of History, University of Montana  

James Boswell: The Journal of His Italian and French Travels, 1765-1766.

Hugh M. Milne

James Boswell, Journals 1766-1769

Murray G. H. Pittock,  Pro-Vice Principal - Special Projects (Senior Vice Principal), Bradley Chair of English Literature (English Literature), University of Glasgow

The Political Correspondence of James Boswell

Richard B. Sher, Distinguished Professor of History, Emeritus, New Jersey Institute of Technology

The Correspondence of James Boswell with Sir William Forbes of Pitsligo

Editorial Committee

The Yale Editions of the Private Papers of James Boswell is served by an Editorial Committee.

George Davidson, Senior Counsel, Hughes Hubbard & Reed LLP

Conrad K. Harper, Chair pro tem.

E.C. Schroeder, Director of Beinecke Library and Associate University Librarian, Yale University

Barbara Shailor,  Senior Lecturer, Classics Department, Yale University

Gordon Turnbull, General Editor, Yale Boswell Editions (ex officio)

Advisory Committee

The Yale Editions of the Private Papers of James Boswell draw also on the advice and services of a group of specialists and scholars, the Advisory Committee.

Linda J. Colley, Shelby M. C. Davis 1958 Professor of History, Princeton University.

The Earl of Elgin and Kincardine, k.t., Broomhall, Dunfermline, Fife.

Bernhard Fabian, Emeritus Professor of English and Bibliography, University of Münster.

Roger Lonsdale, Emeritus Fellow, Balliol College, Oxford University.

McLean, Ralph, Manuscripts Curator (Long 18th Century Collections), Archives and Manuscript Collections, National Library of Scotland.

Giuseppe Mazzotta, Sterling Professor of Italian Language and Literature, Yale University.

Pierre Morère, Professor Emeritus of English and Scottish Literature, Université Stendhal.

Ronald H. Paulson, William D. and Robin Mayer Professor Emeritus in the School of Arts and Sciences, Johns Hopkins University.

H. Mairi J. Robinson, Member, Scottish Dictionaries Council.

Richard B. Sher, Distinguished Professor of History, New Jersey Institute of Technology.

Stuart Sherman, Associate Professor of English, Fordham University. 

Warnock Fellows

The Robert Warnock Fellowship Fund was established by Anita F. Warnock in 1972 with the instructions that it would be to benefit a “worthy scholar working on the Boswell Project at Yale University.”  Scholars  received Warnock Funding in the form of either Senior (S) or Junior (J) fellowships. A list of recipients from 1974-2016 may be found at the link below.

Past Warnock fellows